As with any move, there have been the little adjustments to make. I still haven’t figured out how to get the perfect temperature in the shower.  Sometimes in the kitchen I pause for a second to remember which is the silverware drawer. When that nice English woman in our GPS says, “In .1 miles, arriving at home,” it sounds like she’s putting a special emphasis on home, which makes me sigh.

I’ve spent a lot of time in the last six months feeling sad, even angry, that we had to leave New York. So much so that about a month before we left, Levi and I spent an evening mapping out a ten-year plan that would land us back in the City. It was an effort to ease the parting blow; as my Grandpa Taylor would have said, hands shaking, “We won’t say goodbye, we’ll just say see you later.”

Of course, I was nervous about going to church on Sunday. Levi sensed my apprehension. “This must really be important to you,” he said. “I haven’t see you wear this much makeup since our wedding day.”

I was nervous because I figured I would get to church and no matter how lovely the ward, I would miss the way the entire congregation in Harlem says “Welcome” to visitors.  Plus, for the last three years I’ve had a calling in primary, and the prospect of sitting through relief society held less than the promise of twenty or so kids in Harlem who don’t know the words but sing out anyway.

Happily, it was in relief society that it all came together for me. We happen to have moved into my sister’s old ward (they moved six months ago). When I introduced myself in relief society someone pointed out that I was Ann Marie’s sister and suddenly the women all around me were gushing about my sister, smiling and nodding, happy to have me. I admit to getting tears in my eyes.

It was just another in a long list of things to be grateful for. My brother and his family live nearby. I have a cousin here. Another cousin is moving to our very apartment complex next month. Two of my best friends live here. Any minute now Sarah O. is probably going to ask us out for salads.

We have a dishwasher now. We have two bedrooms and carpet and closets. Levi loves his job. Adelaide is taking long naps. The US is winning the overall medal count.

It’s an obvious point—but there is so much to be grateful for right now that I’m having a hard time being upset.

The emotions at hand take me back to Elder Bednar’s famous talk. “The tender mercies of the Lord,” he said, “will do much to fortify and protect us.”

What are you grateful for today? Thinking of that—it helps, doesn’t it?

