Sarah

I once heard of an attorney who declared email bankruptcy.  She’d gotten too behind on her email correspondence to ever recover, and her inbox was a hopeless mess, so she sent an email to every one of her contacts.  The email said essentially this:

I am declaring email bankruptcy.  I’m deleting all of the emails in my inbox.  If you have something you want me to do for or say to you, please send me another email.  I’m starting over.

Sometimes I want to do that in life.  Not with my emails or my finances, but with my obligations and responsibilities.*  I want to say to everyone I know: Listen.  I’m starting over.  As of right now, I’m not obligated or responsible to anyone.  If you want me to be obligated or responsible to you in some way, let me know.  We’ll start from the ground up.

But between my declaration of life bankruptcy and the reopening of my files, I think I’d take some time off.  And probably, I’d just sleep.

Was it just me, or was everybody in a funk yesterday?

* And I don’t even have little ones or demanding bosses/students/roommates.  God bless those of you that do.

** Also, I want you to know that I’m posting this in the wee sma’s of the morning.  And, I believe firmly in a piece of wisdom my good friend KT gchatted me this week.  She wrote: “but i will be happier in the morning / God built us that way.”  I believe this.

